ESCL Prize 2021

The ESCL is proud to present the winners of the ESCL Master Thesis Competition 2021.

The winner of the ESCL Master Thesis Prize 2021 is

Cristian Rubanovici (University of Copenhagen) with his thesis "Particularities of International Construction Contracts in the Offshore Wind Industry".

The joint second prize was awarded to

Rob Ooms (Delft University of Technology, Faculty of Civil Engineering) for his thesis “Collaboration through gain-and-pain-share mechanism. A roadmap to incentivize collaboration by gain-andpain-sharing concepts”

and to

Saurabh Varanasi (Delft University of Technology, Faculty of Civil Engineering) for his thesis: “Analyzing the collaboration tools used in the Dutch Bouwteam contract form and comparing it with similar international integrated contract forms of Finland and UK. An explorative study into the collaboration tools used in integrated contract forms for infrastructure projects"

Winners of the ESCL Thesis prize are usually congratulated in an award ceremony during the annual ESCL conference. Due to the COVID-19 this year’s ESCL 2021 Annual Conference is postponed to 2022 and will take place on Friday 17 June 2022 in the city of Sofia.
This year's winners have been announced and have presented their thesis in a webinar on the 21st of October 2021. The presentations can be downloaded below as well as the Jury Report. A recording of the webinar can be downloaded from the website of the Bulgarian Society of Construction Law:

The ESCLThesis Master Prize 2021 jury consists of the following members:

  • Adriana Spassova (The current President of the ESCL and chair of  the Bulgarian Society of Construction Law)
  • Professor Dr Benoît Kohl (Professor, University of Liège and University of Paris II - Counsel, Stibbe Brussels)
  • Professor Dr Anthony P. Lavers (Counsel, White & Case LLP, London - Visiting Professor of Law, King’s College London)
  • Professor Dr Hubert Stöckli (Professor at the Institute for Swiss and International Construction Law, University of Fribourg)
  • Professor Dr M. Hugues Périnet-Marquet (Professor, University of Paris II)